Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2019
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location and charming decor

Posted Mar 17, 2019 on Hotels
We were quite impressed with this property from their antique decor in the lobby (even a cannon!) to the friendly staff who helped us store bags waiting for a late flight. The cooked to order breakfast was a treat each morning. As soon as we stepped outside were in the thick of Kuching's vibrant riverfront with souvenir/craft stores, nightly food stalls, and a sound and light show at the government building across the river. Fair warning that it can be unexpected and loud for rooms facing the street if that's not something you would enjoy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2019
Lovely little boutique hotel centrally located on the riverfront. Comfortable rooms and friendly service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2019
Location is central we didn’t realise that we were at the edge of bustling China town ok for some maybe it’s chaotic We booked 3 nights over near year in this boutique hotel advertised as a 30 room non smoking hotel no children under 12 ,,We were surprised to find many infants an family’s in reception area and dinning quarters. It was our preference to choose an adult hotel having brought up 6 children u may understand it’s sometimes nice to get away from grandchildren We made our point at breakfast time an told it was a national holiday and ther was no management at hand to I needed an explanation to the breeches in the hotels policy ,which is clearly visible an written on the reception check in desk. Whilst told a manager would be available shortly after an hour in reception I took a telephone call of acting manager Anne ,Many appolagy was offered and we were told she was 2 hours away at home and the children were leaving she admitted they should not have been in the vicinity of the building ,THE Hotels insurance does not cover children under 12 due to hotel design the railings on stair ways and I balconys didn’t meet with insurance requirements for infants they could fallen through resulting in major accidents Anne eventually arrived I asked what had management done Anne advised me the family’s had signed “ an indemnity to exonerate any blame to hotel or insurance underwriters “ We were appalled we wanted to check out by this time
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2019 by Mary Chan - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your stay at the Ranee. In principle, we do not accept children below 12 years of age but it was New Year’s Eve, many guests including some children , were excited about the Countdown, the Fireworks display and other activities, as well as the Official Government Launch of Visit Sarawak Year 2019. All happening at the waterfront, in front of our hotel. As a result, the main road leading to the hotel was closed but the tour driver who picked you at the airport had an official pass to enter; I guess the crowds had made your journey to the hotel longer than it should have been. Our bar and restaurant close at 10pm daily. Our Front Office staff had made every effort to try to accommodate your requests after this time. Your booking was for a Suite on the attic floor. There are only 2 Suites on this level, accessible only by a private staircase. It is not possible for kids to be outside your room as claimed. At breakfast the next morning, both yourself and your husband were not happy citing that there were kids running around. On checking our cctv, no kids were seen running around. When the Front Office called our Hotel Manager, she made an effort to come all the way to the hotel to settle your case although it was a Public Holiday and her Day Off. You insisted on a written letter from her for the full refund of your stay which was prepaid to a third party. For your information, the third party that you booked through has a 24-hour customer servicing call centre. For us, we deal with the office of this third party which was closed on January 1, 2019 being a universal Public Holiday. We apologise for the bad experience that you had at our hotel and for any shortcoming that we may have. We wish both of you all the Best for 2019 and hope that you will have peaceful hotel stays in the
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Posted Jan 4, 2019
Good rooms and a very good location very near to many shops, restaurants and bars
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2018 on Hotels
We had to change rooms in the middle of the night because there was so much noise. Some of the noise was not the hotels fault. Nobody apologized for our inconvienance! I really wanted to like this place, but customer service wasn’t very good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2018 on Hotels
Awesome stay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

Posted Nov 7, 2018
good location, but kinda of quiet at the restaurant bar. Should spice up the area with drinking and sports game watching.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great & Unique Stay

Posted Oct 13, 2018 on Hotels
Booked the hotel to experience something different. It was a truly unique stay and I got a room too big for myself. Enjoyed the bathtub, the biggest I've ever seen. Overall, the experience was great. The only complaint I had is the room smell a bit mushy and the couch felt like it has never been cleaned before.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Underwhelming and over priced

Posted Sep 27, 2018 on Hotels
A lovely hotel on the surface but standard of service and the noise levels in the room really let this place down. The decor of the hotel is lovely and I treated us to the Leonora Suite (I wouldn’t usually upgrade but it looked so lovely). The room was nice but not as stunning as the pictures. It also had a SERIOUS noise problem. I can tolerate the noise from the street as that is expected in a city centre hotel, however there was an incredibly noise air conditioning unit and another mechanical noise which went on all night. It’s obviously a known problem to the hotel as there were ear plugs on the pillow. Breakfastbuffet was poor, as was the coffee. The cooked local breakfast items however were good. The hotel is in a great location but needs a real shake up of service and little touches to be able to claim its a luxury boutique hotel.