Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2018 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Inexpensive hotel for family stay in St.Petersburg

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: Conveniently located, relatively inexpensive, can accommodate more than two people per room. Nice breakfast is included.
Cons: Carpets could be cleaner in both the room and hallways. Light switches need to be fixed. Shower curtain installed.
Location: Hermitage and Peter and Paul fortress are within walking distance.
It's an ok hotel for a family stay in St Petersburg. Hermitage and Peter and Paul fortress are within the walking distance from this hotel. Most hotels in St Petersburg only have enough space for two people per room and this one could accommodate two adults and two kids. It is conveniently located about 10 minutes from the nearest subway stop, however the subway stop (Vasilieostrovskaya) was closed for a year long renovation in July 2015, so we ended up doing a lot of walking. The hotel is on a busy street corner and there is too much street noise if the windows are open. There were several small annoyances. Bathroom was nice and clean, but no shower curtain. There were strange issues with lights. Bathroom light could only be turned on if one of the room lights was on which is an issue in the middle of the night. There is a master off switch by the main entrance door, so when we entered the room the first time, we turned it off and we couldn't figure out at first why none of the lights were working.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2015 on Hotels
A very basic yet comfortable hotel. Hotel staff are helpful, despite the fact that not all of them can speak English. Location is convenient to the Metro.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value for seasoned traveller

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The staff did their best, and the breakfast was good. The room was nice too and good value (aside from the lock!!).
Cons: Door locks! It would be good if more staff had better English.
Location: SPB is a beautiful city, but the hotel is not in the beautiful bit! It was OK though. I would go back to the city and try to stay in a better hotel.
The room itself was quite nice, though in the fairly grotty part of town and the outside of the hotel is not exactly five star. Breakfast was good, but the lock on my room door broke and I was locked in. Although staff came quickly, they expected me to sleep in this room until the next day when it could be fixed. I suspect this is a fairly common apporach in Russia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westcliff

Hotel Spbvergaz

Posted Jun 23, 2011 on Hotels
Hotel is in poor condition from the outside and I was considering 'moving on' when taxi stopped. The Taxi Drivers bemused look said it all. Hotel looked like a low budget Hostel from the exterior. Thankfully, the inside was somewhat different. Hotel Staff spoke little or no English and communication was a problem until Payment was required! Hotel Rooms have reasonable facilities including Mini Bar but Carpet was marked/tired and their were rust stains from leaking Radiator Pipes. Towel Rail in Bathroom was constantly on and room was very hot at all times. However, rooms were very clean and towels replaced daily. Rooms had Hairdryers, Kettles, TV, Phone, Desk, Armchair etc so were quite well appointed. Even though Hotel was on very busy intersection, road noise was limited by Secondary Glazing. Hotel seemed initially totally 'out of the way' but found Metro within five minutes walk that open up St Petersburg and saved legs! A shortage on Maps and general information made navigation initially confusing, as very difficult with the language barrier to work out location and proximity to attractions. Several Shops and Restaurants were within five minutes walk and a couple of the Restaurants food quality were very good. Overall, Hotel reasonable for cost/standard but would recommend Hotel Staff made more effort to engage with Customers, improve welcome and make an attempt to converse rather than say, 'I speak no English'. I would recommend the Hotel if they addressed the issues raised in the previous Paragraph.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2019 on Hotels
Situado a 5 minutos del metro, a una estación del centro histórico. Limpio, cómodo, buena relación calidad-precio
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Bjarne

Behageligt hotel til overnatning.

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Spbvergaz er et mindre hotel i gåafstand fra centrum, tæt på metro og en gågade med restauranter. Hotellet har ny istandsatte værelser med en behagelig stemning. Personalet taler ikke godt engelsk, men er venlige og imødekommende. Hotellet har en ortodoks kirke som nabo, så der kan være ringen med klokker. Værelser og badeværelse var pinlige rene ved ankomsten.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels