Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted May 18, 2018 on Hotels
The hotel is typical Japanese hotel. Always great service, small but clean rooms, ample shampoo etc, big tub and comfortable blankets. The only thing that was not typical was that the bed was a little uncomfortable because I could feel the springs. Another good thing was coin washers and dryers on site so you can do laundry, very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
Although there are parking lots st this hotel , I was not. allowed to park here during my stay. It shoukd have stated more clearly on hotel.com website if there are restriction or only reserved for special guest or staff. I was directed to park offsite and needed to pay full parking fees for my 2 night stay here. There were also no special discount given for hotel guest. If I knew, I would have chosen other hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK with the price

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: location and clean
Location: shopping street, 7/11,river
good location, but soundproofed is not good, you can clearly heard someone open the door/on the light/ talking ....etc. But without that, this hotel is OK for short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Very convenient twin room but...

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Pros: friendly staff, convenient, cleanliness
Cons: add more smoking rooms
Location: best shopping in Kumamoto right around the corner. And great food on Ginza dori (street)
The GR Hotel Ginzadori is in the heart of downtown. Right next to all the shopping and restaurants. A short taxi ride from the train station. The bus ride from the airport is cheap, but it's a 20 minute walk from the transportation center to the hotel. The staff is pleasant and check in was smooth. Non-smoking twin rooms are very rare in Japan. Out of desperation I booked a smoking twin room, and that's what I got. Other than the smell of smoke and the smell getting into our clothes, the room was clean and all of the amenities (wifi, tv, ac, bath) were as expected. I'd happily book again, if they had non-smoking rooms.
3 out of 5
by Jimmy from Sydney

Close to shopping but small

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
Room was small as expected for most hotels in Japan. However the bathroom / toilet has a bad smell once it is used after the room is cleaned.
4 out of 5
by Joseba from Zurich

No frills convenient hotel for short stay

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Conveniently placed 2 min walk from the arcades. Friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by Martin from Tokyo

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
Decent hotel but breakfast was poor. Good location though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great budget hotel close to nightlife

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
great budget option near nightlife in Kumamoto. the only issue is that their parking lot was full and we had to drive around looking for parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
The stay was for a last minute booking. The room price was considerable higher than other hotels I stayed at in Fukuoka and Oita. The lobby had a strong cigarette smell
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good!

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
Very helpful staff. Got designated staff for English-speaking travelers.